What I ate today

I get A LOT of people asking what I normally eat as a vegan -and by ‘A LOT’ I of course mean none – so I thought I’d kick off my bloganations with a what I ate today thingy.

I try to stick with a high carb low fat diet because I have a BIG appetite and on HCLF I can pretty much eat constantly with no real issues. Today was a wonderfully healthy day which started with a banana and tropical (as in a pot of shop bought tropical fruit) smoothie and a cup of tea both of which preceded a sweaty 30 minutes of kick-boxing.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Banana and tropical fruit smoothie and a cuppa

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Post workout smoothie – spinach, 2 bananas, strawberries, chocolate protein powder, dates.
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Brunch – homemade lentil and vegetable bolognese on toast
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
One more smoothie! 2 bananas, a few dates, peanut butter powder, soya milk, spinach – gorgeous!
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
OMG! DINNER!! That brilliant bolognese again, veggie sausages, peas and sweeeeeeeeet potato wedges! SO.. MUCH.. FOOD!
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
A cup of tea and a dark chocolate Alpro dessert

 

Lentil and vegetable bolognese (WARNING: I do not make the sauce from scratch because in this case it was cheaper to buy and I’m a savvy little shopper)

Serves ‘6’

250g dry lentils (brown or speckled are good)

4-500g jar of bolognese sauce (I used tesco own brand as it’s low in fat, low in nasties and only 85p!)

Finely chopped red pepper

Finely chopped courgette

Finely chopped onion

100g mushrooms.. chunky chopped

Veggie stock cube

 

Rinse the lentils and then simmer in veggie stock in a big pan for around 30 mins until al dente, drain and stick ’em back in their pan. Meanwhile, chop up those veggies! ‘Fry’ the onions, peppers and courgette for 10 minutes until a little softened then add in the mushrooms for a further 5 minutes. Add to the lentil pan along with the bolognese sauce and put on the lowest heat to blurble together for an hour, stir occasionally. You may need to add a bit of exxxtra water but keep that bad boy thick! Serve it with whatever and put it in your MOUTH!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

